JK Tyre Racing Championship penultimate round on 8-9 November at Buddh

The Buddh International Circuit would play host to the 17th JK Tyre Racing Championship this weekend. The 17th edition of the country’s longest running Racing Championship, to be held on November 8 and 9, 2014,  will witness 75 young drivers from across the country race on the 5.15 km long Buddh International circuit race track in three different categories to prove their mettle.

International drivers and JK Tyre brand ambassadors Armaan Ebrahim and Aditya Patel will also be present during the race and will drive alongside the 10 drivers in the FB02 category and the drivers will have the opportunity to not only race with these world class drivers but at the same time will get a chance to pick the nuances and tips from both the drivers. They will be starting from the end of the grid to give the drivers a head start and possibly entertain the crowd with their maneuvers.

Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad would once again be the runaway favourite to take the chequered flag at the Buddh Circuit in the featured event. Racing in the FB 02 class, Vishnu’s driving with class and precision and holding clean lines on the sharp turns is a treat to watch. Bonnie Thomas of Kerala and local boy Karminder Pal Singh would be the racers to watch out for in the Volkswagen Polo R Cup, having only a difference of 14 points after their escapade in Coimbatore in the last two rounds. In the LGBF4 category, Kerala’s Diljith T Shaji of Dark Don Racing is the man to look out for having won 4 races out of 6 in the two previous rounds and would be the man to beat in BIC.

Speaking about the weekend race, Mr. Sanjay Sharma, Head – Motorsport – JK Tyre & Industries Limited said, “At this point, the championship is balanced. It will be interesting to watch the encounters as the drivers will be giving their best to retain their position and can be anybody’s game. The success of the program is when the Championship goes down the wire and is decided possibly in the last race of the last round.”

Like every year, event promoters JK Tyres have introduced a special event in the championship – JK Tyres Super Bikes Cup which will see bikers with litre class engines – riders from Bangalore, Jaipur, Agra will be taking part along with the local boys in their home turf.

The JK Tyre-Volkswagen Polo R Cup, India’s first one–make tin-top racing series is currently in its 5th year in the championship and LGB Formula 4 Racing which is the stepping stone to single seater racing and will have four professional teams – Meco Racing, Rayo Racing, Dark Don Racing and Avalanche Racing – vie for the crown.

One of the major attraction in the LGB Formula 4 race would be the presence of lone female driver Captain Sneha Sharma, who is expected to challenge the hegemony of the established names.

CarToq had a contest to hand out passes to this race event. The winners from the CarToq community are: 

Mohak Grover, Palash Kushwah, Rohit Kumar, Akshay Pratap Singh, Shiv Pratap Singh, Gladstone David, Naveen Arul, Samarpan Manohar Jadhav, Jinoy C Joy, Darshith P, ShivSharan, Gopesh Walia, Vaibhav Gupta, Ranjith Kumar. Congratulations folks. Hope you can enjoy the race.